Bob Smith Industries APC Propellers SAMRai Racing Jett Engineering

NMPRA District 5

The The National Miniature Pylon Racing Association (NMPRA) is the Academy Of Model Aeronautics Special Interest Group for Pylon Racing. NMPRA District 5 includes the states of Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Kentucky, Missouri, Iowa and Minnesota. Membership in the Academy Of Model Aeronautics is required to participate in District 5 racing events. NMPRA membership is not required but encouraged. More information on the Academy of Model Aeronautics and the NMPRA can be found at the links below:

Academy Of Model Aeronautics


Special Spring Thaw Warmup Event For 2016

There will be a special Spring Thaw Warmup Practice Event for 2016 at the AMA International Aeromodelling Center on Friday, May 6, 2016 through Sunday, May 8, 2016. This event is to allow anyone interested in pylon racing to come out and get some practice and get assistance from experienced pylon racers at the best pylon racing site in the United States.

Click Here To Download The Spring Thaw Flyer

2015 District 5 Racing Season Wraps Up In Brooklyn Park

The 2015 District 5 season began in Brooklyn Park, MN on April 25, 2015. The season finished up in Brooklyn Park on October 10, 2015. The schedule is being put together now for the 2016 season. Plan to attend as many races as possible! It is important to support the clubs that will host races. We have lost great races in the past due to lack of support. Almost all of the races have multiple classes so there is a racing event for everyone. Check out the schedule page for more details.

The 2015 racing season in District 5 was a good one. We are looking for more pilots to join the fun in 2016. Pylon racing is the most fun you can have in RC. There is nothing like the excitement of being on the course with other pilots in a close race. With multiple classes there is a skill and cost level for every RC pilot. If you have questions on how to get started or need information please contact our District VP Jim Nikodem or Bernie Vanderleest.

You Can Compete For The District 5 Championships!

The NMRPA point system is used for each class champion. Each competitor's top 6 race point totals will be used to determine the champion. You do not need to be a member of the NMPRA to compete for the championship but it is highly recommended that you join the NMPRA. You also do not need to live in District 5 to compete but only points earned in the District 5 series of races will count. The NATS is considered a District 5 race since it is held in the district. So make sure to plan on flying the NATS.

The prestigious Lead Goose Trophy travelling trophy is awarded to the pilot that accumulates the most points in the AMA Q500 424 races held in District 5. The Caudron Trophy travelling trophy is awarded to the pilot that accumulates the most points in the AMA Q500 426 races held in District 5.



The 2016 AMA Pylon Racing National Championships will be held in District 5 at the International Aeromodelling Center in Muncie, IN on July 15 - 22, 2016. Click on the NATS logo below for more information.


Thank You!

Ed Smith has hung up his starter's flag but the District 5 pilots wish to sincerely thank Ed for helping run the NATS and the other CAPS Muncie races. We hope to see Ed at the races soon enjoying the fun and not working so hard.

Pylon racing has come to an end in Hilbert, WI but the District 5 pilots wish to sincerely thank Mick Warning, Mark Warning and George Reynolds for running the great Hilbert races.

Pylon racing has come to an end in Rockford, IL but the District 5 pilots wish to sincerely thank Orv Steinmetz and Ron Monk for their longtime contributions to pylon racing.



© 2016 NMPRA District 5

All Rights Reserved